InZoMaNIaC dOt cOm

my untwisted mind

warning: smoking kills

Posted by inzomaniac on June 19, 2008

I thought I couldn’t afford to take her out and smoke as well. So I gave up cigarettes. Then I took her out and one day I looked at her and thought: “Oh well,” and I went back to smoking again, and that was better. ~Benny Hill

i just remembered an old man once told me this story…

when he was still young, during the martial law in the Philippines, he was held captive in prison for almost 10 years. before he went inside the prison, he never had any vices… not even gambling nor taking a shot of liquor..

being imprisoned, he learned to be tough.. he longed for his family and for someone to love.. even just a simple friend to lean on..

during these years, he tried to smoke… at first consuming one stick a day, the, two, three and then, all of a sudden, he was addicted to it..

and a pack of cigarette became his constant companion.. he said “smoke is a lonely man’s bestfriend”…

after listening to his story, i realized, he was right… maybe, i am very lonely.. i started smoking when i was still in high school.. it never crossed my mind that i was smoking because i was lonely..

then it just came up into my mind.. i was really lonely back then… living alone in manila to study… with no parents nor siblings around… yeah, i was lonely…

and now… for almost ten years… i can’t stop… i can’t leave my only bestfriend who never left me through all these years…

Leave a Reply

 
